Navigation aid

DES - Online Annual Report 2007

My Annual Report

Store page
My Annual Report

Declaration of conformity

In December 2007, the Executive and Supervisory Boards of the Company jointly submitted their updated declaration of conformity with the recommendations of the Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code for the 2007 financial year in accordance with section 161 of the AktG (Aktiengesetz - German Public Companies Act). The declaration was made permanently available to the public on the Company‘s website at www.deutsche-euroshop.de.

Joint declaration by the Executive and Supervisory Boards of Deutsche Euro- Shop AG relating to the recommendations of the Government Commission on the German Corporate Governance Code in accordance with section 161 AktG

The Executive Board and the Supervisory Board of Deutsche EuroShop AG declare that the Company has complied with, and will continue to comply with, the recommendations of the Government commission ‘German Corporate Governance Code’ (as published by the German Federal Ministry of Justice in the official section of the electronic Federal Gazette (Bundesanzeiger) on 4 July 2003, and as amended on 14 June 2007), subject to a limited number of exceptions, as indicated below:

Deutsche EuroShop AG does not broadcast the Annual General Meeting via modern communications media, such as the internet. (Section 2.3.4 of the Code)

The Company has decided not to broadcast the Annual General Meeting via modern communications media, taking into account the need for confidentiality expressed by numerous shareholders, as well as the low demand that is expected (due to the size of the Company and the number of shareholders) in relation to the costs involved.

• The existing D&O insurance policy taken out for the members of the Executive Board and the Supervisory Board does not provide for any deductible. (Section 3.8 (2) of the Code)

The Executive Board and the Supervisory Board of Deutsche EuroShop AG have acted in a responsible manner, managing and supervising the Company in line with the principles of creating enterprise value ever since the Company was established, preceding the official introduction of corporate governance guidelines. The Company therefore believes that the agreement of a deductible is not necessary, in particular as this has no effect on the level of the insurance premium.

• The remuneration of the members of the Executive Board does not include stock options. (Section 4.2.3 (3) of the Code)

The Company’s share price performance depends on various factors, which are not necessarily consistent with the Company’s actual business performance, or with the personal performance of Executive Board members. As such factors might neutralise the long-term incentive effect of a stock option programme, the Company has not implemented any stock-option programmes or similar securities-based incentive schemes to date.

• There is no stipulated age limit for a Member of the Executive Board. (Section 5.1.2 (2) of the Code)

The Supervisory Board believes that professional qualification and skills represent the key criteria for members of the Executive Board. If an age limit policy was in force, such a policy might in fact force the retirement of a qualified and skilled Executive Board member.

• The Supervisory Board did not establish a nomination committee. (Section 5.3.3 of the Code), 5.3.3).

The Company’s Supervisory Board consists of only six members, all of whom are shareholder representatives. Given the limited size and the structure of the Supervisory Board, the Executive Committee has assumed the duties of a nomination committee.

• There is no stipulated age limit for a Member of the Supervisory Board. (Section 5.4.1 (1) of the Code)

The Company believes that professional qualification and skills represent the key criteria for members of the Supervisory Board. If an age limit policy was in force, such a policy would restrict the options available to shareholders in selecting members - and might, in fact, force the retirement of a qualified and skilled Supervisory Board member.

• The remuneration of Supervisory Board members does not take into account the performance of duties as a member of Supervisory Board committees. (Section 5.4.7 (1) of the Code)

• he remuneration of Supervisory Board members does not comprise performance-based remuneration components. (Section 5.4.7 (2) of the Code)

The Company believes that a fixed remuneration package for members of the Supervisory Board best reflects the Company’s business model, which is based on generating income from the long-term letting of shopping centre properties. The selection of shopping centres to be acquired and held, plus the quality of long-term leases, represent the key factors determining the Company’s long-term success.

• The consolidated financial statements are published within 120 days of the end of the financial year. (Section 7.1.2 of the Code)

It is important to the Company to publish audited financial statements that have been approved by the Supervisory Board. An earlier publication date is not feasible due to the schedules for the preparation, auditing, and adoption of the financial statements.

Hamburg, December 2007

The Executive Board and the
Supervisory Board
Deutsche EuroShop AG



Continue reading: Management Report

Back to: Outlook

Navigationshilfe

DES - Online Geschäftsbericht 2007

Entsprechenserklärung

Im Dezember 2007 haben Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat der Gesellschaft gemeinsam ihre aktualisierte Entsprechenserklärung nach § 161 AktG zu den Empfehlungen der Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex für das Geschäftsjahr 2007 abgegeben. Die Erklärung wurde auf der Internetseite der Gesellschaft unter www.deutsche-euroshop.de dauerhaft öffentlich zugänglich gemacht.

Gemeinsame Erklärung des Vorstands und des Aufsichtsrats der Deutsche EuroShop AG zu den Empfehlungen der Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex gemäß § 161 AktG:

Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat der Deutsche EuroShop AG erklären, dass den vom Bundesministerium der Justiz am 4. Juli 2003 im amtlichen Teil des Bundesanzeigers bekannt gemachten Empfehlungen der „Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex“ in der Fassung vom 14. Juni 2007 mit wenigen nachfolgenden Ausnahmen entsprochen wurde und wird.

• Die Deutsche EuroShop AG veröffentlicht die Hauptversammlung nicht über moderne Kommunikationsmedien, z.B. Internet (Kodex Ziff. 2.3.4).

Das Vertraulichkeitsbedürfnis vieler Aktionäre sowie die aufgrund der Größe der Gesellschaft und Anzahl der Aktionäre zu erwartende geringe Nachfrage im Verhältnis zu den Kosten veranlasst die Gesellschaft, die Hauptversammlung nicht über moderne Kommunikationsmedien zu veröffentlichen.

• Die D & O-Versicherung beinhaltet keinen Selbstbehalt von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat (Kodex Ziff. 3.8 Abs. 2).

Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat der Deutsche EuroShop AG handeln seit Gründung der Gesellschaft und damit bereits vor der offiziellen Einführung einer Corporate Governance verantwortlich und für eine auf Wertschöpfung ausgerichtete Leitung und Kontrolle der Gesellschaft. Daher ist aus Sicht der Gesellschaft die Vereinbarung eines Selbstbehaltes entbehrlich, zumal dieses keinen Einfluss auf die Höhe der Versicherungsprämie hat.

• Die Vergütung der Vorstandsmitglieder beinhaltet keine Aktienoptionen (Kodex Ziff. 4.2.3 Abs. 3).

Die Entwicklung des Aktienkurses ist von verschiedenen Faktoren abhängig, die nicht unbedingt mit der tatsächlichen wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung der Gesellschaft oder der Leistung des Vorstands in Einklang stehen. Dadurch könnte die langfristige Anreizwirkung von Aktienoptionsprogrammen konterkariert werden. Aus diesem Grund hat die Gesellschaft bisher auf Aktienoptionsprogramme oder ähnliche wertpapierorientierte Anreizsysteme verzichtet.

• Für Vorstandsmitglieder ist keine Altersgrenze festgelegt (Kodex Ziff. 5.1.2 Abs. 2).

Der Aufsichtsrat ist der Auffassung, dass für Vorstandsmitglieder die wesentlichen Kriterien „Qualifikation“ und „Fähigkeit“ gelten. Die Altersgrenze könnte eine qualifizierte Vorstandsarbeit beenden.

• Der Aufsichtsrat hat keinen Nominierungsausschuss gebildet (Kodex Ziff. 5.3.3).

Der Aufsichtsrat der Gesellschaft besteht aus nur sechs Mitgliedern, die zudem alle Vertreter der Anteilseigner sind. Aufgrund dieser geringen Größe und Struktur übernimmt das Präsidium des Aufsichtsrats die Aufgaben eines Nominierungsausschusses.

• Für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder ist keine Altersgrenze festgelegt (Kodex Ziff. 5.4.1 Abs. 1).

Die Gesellschaft ist der Auffassung, dass für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder die wesentlichen Kriterien „Qualifikation“ und „Fähigkeit“ gelten. Die Altersgrenze schränkt die Wahlrechte der Aktionäre ein und könnte eine qualifizierte und fähige Aufsichtsratsarbeit beenden.

• Die Aufsichtsratsvergütung berücksichtigt nicht die Mitgliedschaft in Ausschüssen (Kodex Ziff. 5.4.7 Abs. 1). Die Vergütung enthält keine erfolgsorientierten Elemente (Kodex Ziff. 5.4.7 Abs. 2).

Die Gesellschaft ist der Auffassung, dass eine feste Vergütung des Aufsichtsrates das Geschäftsmodell, welches auf Einnahmen durch eine langfristige Vermietung von Einkaufszentren basiert, am besten abbildet. Der langfristige Unternehmenserfolg resultiert wesentlich aus der Wahl der zu erwerbenden und im Bestand zu haltenden Einkaufszentren sowie der Qualität der langfristigen Mietverträge.

• Der Konzernabschluss wird binnen 120 Tagen nach Geschäftsjahresende veröffentlicht (Kodex Ziff. 7.1.2).

Die Gesellschaft legt Wert darauf, geprüfte und vom Aufsichtsrat festgestellte Jahresabschlüsse zu veröffentlichen. Aufgrund der zeitlichen Abläufe für die Erstellung, Prüfung und Feststellung des Jahresabschlusses ist ein früherer Termin für die Veröffentlichung nicht möglich.

Hamburg, im Dezember 2007

Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat
Deutsche EuroShop AG



Lesen Sie weiter: Konzernlagebericht

Zurück zu: Ausblick